Contaminated J&J Baby Powder

I spent my long weekend constantly in a flux. Deepavali has not been kind to me. To get my mind off things, I’ve been doing a lot of housekeeping.

A quick announcement, I have created selvstories.tumblr – a dedicated Tumblr just for my Patreon. You get sneak previews of my short stories here. Yes, I’ve started putting out new short stories, not that anyone’s excited or anything. My existing Tumblr will continue to function as per normal for the time being, as a social media of sorts. You’ll find more pictures there, by the way.

I am also trialing a new page on WordPress for my Premium Short Stories, where I list out and preview out a small snippet of the stories on my Patreon. The existing page listing my free-to-read Tumblr Short Stories has been moved to a new url as well.


Anyway, I wanted to quickly discuss the case of Johnson and Johnson contaminated baby powder. We used this when we were kids, and the smell of baby powder definitely invokes feelings of regression for many even today.

On Friday, J&J issued a recall order on about 33,000 bottles of their iconic product. This was after the US FDA detected traces of asbestos in a bottle. Though the company insists that its product is safe, it decided to err on the side of caution, and proceeded with the recall.

In Singapore, the HSA has said that its own tests have not detected any asbestos, nor has it received any reports of members of the public having any adverse reactions.

J&J has been increasingly dragged into various lawsuits in the US, where it has been sued on the grounds that its baby powder has been causing cancer. An earlier series of rulings however have found the company liable for selling a product that contains trace amounts of asbestos.

Talcum powder is used widely. It is not confined to just diaper-changes. Many adults use them on a daily basis. And of course, the ABDL community is a huge fan. Talcum powder acts as a sweat-absorber, barrier between skin and garment. This in turn reduces the likelihood of diaper rash developing. While there is no alternative to regular changes, and diaper absorption technology has improved greatly, talcum powder is still an important part of many diaper changes.

The threat of getting asbestos-induced cancer from the world’s most used powder brand is there. Whether you err on the side of caution or not, there is no denying that you are less likely to use J&J’s baby powder.

Stay safe people!

– Selv

Leave a comment