Pull-ups

I decided to give pull-up style diapers a second chance.

I was at a store late one evening and my choices were partly down to the 12 piece, $10.45 Tena Value diapers and the 10 piece, $13.90 Guardian Adult Pants diapers. I was running out of time, I needed to be home soon. I was also worried about the noise that the Tena Values made. So I reckoned that the cloth-backed pull-ups would be something different.

The only time I had an experience with pull-ups was when I bought a pack of Goodnites. Even back then, they felt tight on me and didn’t cover much area, meaning that I had to re-position my asset every time I needed to pee. But at least they held a substantial volume. So, in the few minutes that I had, I decided to see how a store-brand, adult-sized pull-up would fare on me.

The packaging looked promising. But it was when I held out a diaper that all my expectations evaporated. Within a minute of putting it on, I began to regret my earlier decision.

The fitting was not snug and tight, the padded area was not big enough to cover my male assets and as I would discover the next morning, even under controlled conditions, liquid escaped through the top and sides as the elastic gathers were not water resistant.

The one thing good about these particular pull-ups is that they hold about 2 medium wettings. But what’s the point if it can’t direct the liquid into the padded area?

The main aims of a diaper would be to catch any emissions in order to protect the wearer’s clothes and thus dignity, and to keep the wearer comfortable to a large extent by being a good fit and not being noisy etc. I feel that these pull-ups fail in the first aim, at least for male wearers.

I regretĀ giving pull-up style diapers a second chance.

– Selv

Leave a Reply

