Birthday Post

Ah, how nice that my regular tuesday post coincides with my birthday. (Yes, it is my real birthday, no, my real name is not Selva Raja).

I don’t know why, but I was thinking of what could have been the most meaningful birthday gift that I had received over the years. First smartphone, first film camera, first overseas trip that was not to Malaysia. Admittedly, I had spent all my birthdays in school camps from years 13 to 19, and years 20, 21 in Army camps. So this was like the first time in 10 years that I was spending my birthday at home. Of course, my extended family seized the opportunity, and now I write this post after the mega birthday celebration that my cousins threw for me. (They couldn’t do it when I was 16 and 21).

But the most meaningful? When I was in JC year 2, a CCA camp had just ended, but I was feeling very upset as I had performed poorly. So I lied to my parents that I was going out, but I decided to stay back in school to finish up my assignments. I was all alone in the study corner. I was mindlessly writing out an essay when all of a sudden, a girl speaks.

“Hi (My name).”

I look up and I see that it is the very girl that I’ve had a crush on for years. Here she was, smiling to me, waving and smiling the warmest smile, and to me at that. That was it. She didn’t even know it was my birthday. But it really made my day. It was the most meaningful birthday gift that I had received. She proceeds to the adjacent table to study and that was that.

Admittedly, this memory has lost its meaning. We started talking more after that day, but it didn’t progress. I was too afraid of taking that step. I found out that she is now happily attached another guy, and I respect that.

I received a big birthday bash, and the only physical present that I received was a heartfelt card made my by younger sister. That is enough for me.

– Selv

P.S. I want a Doonkleberry cake. Too bad Gimmelshtump doesn’t export to Singapore.

Leave a Reply

